The 2016 selection and judging panel consisted of Cheryl Jones (Director of Grand Union, Birmingham), George Vasey (art writer and curator at the Northern Gallery of Contemporary Art, Sunderland) and Phoenix Gallery curator Matt Burrows.

Announced at a special award ceremony on Thu 15 Sep, the 2016 Exeter Contemporary Open award winners are: 

  • £1,000 Overall Award: Devlin Shea
  • £500 Additional Award: Naomi Frears
  • £200 Audience Choice Award: Michelle Conway
  • Moving Image Award: Dorine van Meel

2016 Selected Artists

Exeter Contemporary Open Exhibition 2015

Generous support was provided by our sponsor Haines Watts, and our media partners The Big Issue and Exeter Living.